Lake Superior Zoological Society

EIN 41-0944885

The Lake Superior Zoo is owned by the City of Duluth and operated by the Arrowhead Zoological Society (DBA Lake Superior Zoological Society), a nonprofit 501(c)(3) charitable organization. The society operates the zoo for the benefit of the city according to a city contract as set out in Minnesota Laws 1961, Chapter 91 and Duluth legislative code, Parks and Recreation, Article II. Fairmount Park Zoo, Sec. 35-10. The society receives an annual subsidy for the zoo of about $670,000; $510,000 of which is appropriated to the zoo by the Duluth City Council from tourism taxes.

Board of Directors 2022

  1. Joey Engseth, President
  2. Susan Waldie, Vice President
  3. Kala Pedersen, Secretary
  4. Jonathan Ballmer, Interim Treasurer & Immediate Past President
  5. Noah Hobbs
  6. James Lewis
  7. Maya Mattke
  8. Gina Mogen
  9. Mike Polzin
  10. Britta Schielke

Emeritus Board Member

  • Tim Meininger
  • John Scott
  • Russ Smith

Ex Officio – City of Duluth Parks and Recreation Representative

Jessica Peterson

Honorary Members

  • Stephen Lewis
  • Mark McShane

Chief Executive Officer

  • Haley Hedstrom

Senior Management Team


Lake Superior Zoological Society
7210 Fremont Street
Duluth, MN 55807

Phone: (218) 730-4500 Email: Board of Directors

Staff Directory